Skip to Content

Government appoints Research and Innovation Council

Government Communications Department
Publication date 23.11.2023 14.06 | Published in English on 29.11.2023 at 16.06
Press release

On 23 November 2023, the Government appointed new members to the Research and Innovation Council. The purpose of the Research and Innovation Council is to support the Government in developing its long-term, comprehensive research and innovation policy.

The council is chaired by Prime Minister Petteri Orpo and its ministerial members are Minister of Finance Riikka Purra, Minister of Science and Culture Sari Multala (1st Vice-Chair), Minister of Economic Affairs Wille Rydman, Minister of Education Anna-Maja Henriksson and Minister of Agriculture and Forestry Sari Essayah.

The other members of the council are Director of the Confederation of Finnish Industries Riikka Heikinheimo, Partner Ilkka Kivimäki, Academy Professor Markku Kulmala from the University of Helsinki, Rector of the University of Helsinki Sari Lindblom (2nd Vice-Chair), Rector of Turku University of Applied Sciences Vesa Taatila, President & CEO of VTT Technical Research Centre of Finland Antti Vasara and President & CEO of Vaisala Kai Öistämö (3rd Vice-Chair). 

The Government also appointed permanent experts to the council. The permanent experts are Permanent State Under-Secretary Timo Lankinen from the Prime Minister's Office, Strategy and Research Director Olli Kärkkäinen from the Ministry of Finance, Permanent Secretary Anita Lehikoinen from the Ministry of Education and Culture, Director General Ilona Lundström from the Ministry of Economic Affairs and Employment, President of the Academy of Finland Paula Eerola and Director General of Business Finland Nina Kopola
The Research and Innovation Council was appointed on 23 November for the duration of the parliamentary term. 

The Research and Innovation Council is an advisory body consisting of members of the Government and external experts. Its purpose is to develop research and innovation policy that supports wellbeing, education and culture as well as economically, socially and ecologically sustainable growth and competitiveness.

Inquiries: Henrik Vuornos, Special Adviser to the Prime Minister, Prime Minister’s Office, tel. +358 50 408 44 22 and Antti Pelkonen, Science Specialist, Prime Minister’s Office, tel. +358 295 160 533, [email protected]